Flights and Warsaw

I am writing this in a hotel room in Tbilisi, the capital and largest city of Georgia. To get here, I first left home and flew to Chicago at 1 PM. From Chicago I left for Warsaw at around 10 PM. The flight was uneventful. I was sitting next to a Polish lady and I tried talking to her, but she no speaka da English, so we spent the whole flight in silence. Nevertheless I was glad she was there, since she crossed herself during takeoff. This was a real relief to me, as I knew that the plane would thereby not crash.

We landed in Poland about 2 PM local time, and I had a layover of eight hours. I had planned to use this time to go explore exotic Warsaw, but 1) it was raining, and 2) I didn’t get much sleep on the plane and I was tired and grumpy. Because of this, I was in no mood to deal with taxis or maps or anything involved in tourism, so I decided instead to just walk around the area outside of the airport and try to see if I could find anything interesting. I was chagrined but not surprised to find that I could not. The area around the airport was, as it is in most places, totally shitty.

Still, I tried to make the most of the situation, and was able to sample a delicacy for which Poland is famous: tequila-flavored beer.

They sold this at the airport for 6 zl, but I found a gas station a few blocks away that sold it for 4.50 zl.

The gas station clerk told me that I couldn’t drink it in the store, so I walked over to an under-construction highway and drank it there in the rain.

I told you this place was shitty.

While walking around I was shocked to find that Warsaw has a very active drug trade. There are even street signs that designate drug distribution areas.

I waited at this corner for twenty minutes hoping someone would give me some drugs, but nobody came. It must have been because of the weather.

After this, I went back into the airport and napped on and off until the flight to Tbilisi. That flight was also uneventful, and I arrived at 3 AM local time. A cab driver was waiting there to pick me up. He knew two English words: “Georgia” and “good.” From these two words he was able to construct one crude sentence, and he said this sentence to me several times during the ride to the hotel.

2 thoughts on “Flights and Warsaw

  1. Warsaw was isera, but Krakow is a very nice city and worth a visit. Please don’t base your entire opinion of Poland on a shitty layover in a city that was literally decimated in WWII

Leave a Reply

